On the balcony – Part 1

16 November 2014

16 November 2014

Look far and wide to set your vision

This was my first photograph and I used my widest lens looking out towards the East. It was an obvious photograph for me to take and set the scene for my upcoming journey. The space out ‘there’ gave me a feeling of freedom. Further, I was able to reflect on the the vast range of possibilities that exist for me to consider before I decide on a focused vision.

17 November 2014

17 November 2014

If you can’t see anything in front of you, then turn around

I confronted a photographer’s block today (if there is such a thing). I couldn’t see anything looking out. I was trying so hard to see what I could photograph and was becoming frustrated and desperate. I turned around and looked through the door into the apartment.

18 November 2014

18 November 2014

You are always being watched

This ornament of the sun hangs on the outside wall. It looks out and is ever present. It reminds me that there is a meta-part of ourselves that is constantly observing and witnessing what we think and do.

19 November 2014

19 November 2014

You need a safe parking place to rest

While taking this photograph it dawned on me that we need an emotionally safe place to rest and re-generate our energies.

20 November 2014

20 November 2014

Look, it is right in front of you

I walked into the kitchen before going onto the balcony. My wife was preparing a vegetarian dish that looked irresistible. The array of colours in the dish jumped out at me and the photograph was right in front of me. After taking the photograph we enjoyed a delicious meal, with a glass of Chilean cabernet sauvignon.

21 November 2014

21 November 2014

Small is beautiful

In our rush, we seldom notice the small. The coriander in our small pot on the balcony has flowered. The flowers are tiny and so beautiful. I used my macro lens to take this photograph.

2 thoughts on “On the balcony – Part 1

Leave a Reply

